BCCI announces schedule for IPL 2024 to be played from March 31 to May 28

IPL 2024 will kick off on March 31, with defending champions Gujarat Titans taking on Chennai Super Kings in Ahmedabad, as the league returns to its traditional home-and-away format in India for the first time since 2019. The final will also take place. in Ahmedabad on May 28.

The IPL is scheduled to kick off five days after the inaugural Women’s Premier League final on March 26, and the opening weekend will see all ten teams in action: after the Titans take on CSK on Friday, the Punjab Kings take on Kolkata Knight Riders in Mohali and Lucknow Super Giants take on Delhi Capitals in Lucknow on Saturday (April 1); and Sunrisers Hyderabad will take on Rajasthan Royals in Hyderabad, and Royal Challengers Bangalore will take on Mumbai Indians in Bengaluru on Sunday, April 2.

The schedule for the four playoff games has yet to be announced, apart from Ahmedabad being identified as the venue for the title clash.

The teams have been divided into two groups like last season. Pool A includes Mumbai, Knight Riders, Royals, Capitals, and Super Giants, while Pool B includes Super Kings, Royal Challengers, Titans, Kings, and Sunrisers. But unlike last season, each team will play the five teams from the other group twice and once against the other four from their own group, making 14 league games per team.

The league phase comprises 70 matches over 52 days from March 31 to May 21, spanning 12 cities, and will feature 18 doubleheaders. In addition to the usual ten venues (Chennai, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, Mumbai, Kolkata, Lucknow, Delhi, Ahmedabad, Jaipur and Mohali), some matches will be played in Guwahati (the Royals’ second home) and Dharamsala (the Royals’ second home). kings).

Read Also  Why Does Virat Kohli Think the IPL is So Successful 2024?

The Royals will play their first two home games in Guwahati and the other five in Jaipur. Meanwhile, the Kings will play their first five home games in Mohali and their last two home games in Dharamsala.

Mumbai Indians vs Chennai Super Kings in 1000th IPL game

There will be a total of 18 double matches during the league phase, every Saturday and Sunday. The two most successful teams in IPL history, Mumbai and Super Kings, will meet twice, on April 8 and May 6, with the second of those matches being the 1,000th match of the IPL since its inception in 2008. Meanwhile, Super Kings would return to their original home at MA Chidambaram Stadium, or Chepauk, in Chennai.

IPL 2019 was the last time the league was played in all traditional venues in India. In 2020, the tournament had to be postponed from the March-May window to September-November and was moved to the United Arab Emirates due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

in September. In 2022, the tournament was held in the March-May window in India, but the entire league phase was held at the Mumbai and Pune venues, along with the playoffs and final in Kolkata and Ahmedabad.

Gujarat Titans won the IPL title in their debut season last year under the captaincy of Hardik Pandya, beating Rajasthan Royals in the final in Ahmedabad.
22-03-248:00 PMChennai Super KingsRoyal Challengers BangaloreChennaiBuy Tickets
23-03-243:30 PMPunjab KingsDelhi CapitalsMohaliBuy Tickets
23-03-247:30 PMKolkata Knight RidersSunrisers HyderabadKolkataBuy Tickets
24-03-243:30 PMRajasthan RoyalsLucknow Super GiantsJaipurBuy Tickets
24-03-247:30 PMGujarat TitansMumbai IndiansAhmedabadBuy Tickets
25-03-247:30 PMRoyal Challengers BangalorePunjab KingsBengaluruBuy Tickets
26-03-247:30 PMChennai Super KingsGujarat TitansChennaiBuy Tickets
27-03-247:30 PMSunrisers HyderabadMumbai IndiansHyderabadBuy Tickets
28-03-247:30 PMRajasthan RoyalsDelhi CapitalsJaipurBuy Tickets
29-03-247:30 PMRoyal Challengers BangaloreKolkata Knight RidersBengaluruBuy Tickets
30-03-247:30 PMLucknow Super GiantsPunjab KingsLucknowBuy Tickets
31-03-243:30 PMGujarat TitansSunrisers HyderabadAhmedabadBuy Tickets
31-03-247:30 PMDelhi CapitalsChennai Super KingsVizagBuy Tickets
01-04-247:30 PMMumbai IndiansRajasthan RoyalsMumbaiBuy Tickets
02-04-247:30 PMRoyal Challengers BangaloreLucknow Super GiantsBengaluruBuy Tickets
03-04-247:30 PMDelhi CapitalsKolkata Knight RidersVizagBuy Tickets
04-04-247:30 PMGujarat TitansPunjab KingsAhmedabadBuy Tickets
05-04-247:30 PMSunrisers HyderabadChennai Super KingsHyderabadBuy Tickets
06-04-247:30 PMRajasthan RoyalsRoyal Challengers BangaloreJaipurBuy Tickets
07-04-243:30 PMMumbai IndiansDelhi CapitalsMumbaiBuy Tickets
07-04-247:30 PMLucknow Super GiantsGujarat TitansLucknowBuy Tickets
Read Also  IPL Generates More Revenue Than English Premier League

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *